May 26, 2011

Went to chemo for the first time today.  It was really long and it wasn't as boring as I felt it would be.  I think I tried to have a good attitude and that helped.  We almost finished the chemo, but the doctor and the nurses and I decided this was a good start for today and that I'll come back later and ease into it.  It's really long!!!!!!!!!!!!  I've got to ease into the duration of time.  I think my first graders are rubbing off on me because it felt like I had a 10-15 minute attention span and I couldn't hold still.  Maybe I have ADD. :)  Well, I don't, but that's a long time!!!!!!!!!!!!! 

I'm mostly drowsy and I missed the make you feel sick part of the chemo so I should be fine in terms of symptoms.  I'll tell you more about the full chemo cycle later on after I have one.  I still can't believe that I got out of finishing it today.  I guess my years and years of experience as the youngest child paid off.  :)  It's a good thing that my doctor is such a sweet man. 

I learned a lot today.  I have good news to share!!!  All my tests came back and all the results are good.  The cancer isn't in my bone marrow and my heart looks good and all the tests came back indicating I am in stage 2 of lymphoma.  Yay!  So, anyone who might have been worried, like I was, can now breathe and feel calmer. 

I also learned that Aunt Bonnie was right about taking a blanket.  It was comforting and I did get cold at the beginning of my treatment.  I also learned that my candy idea was a good one.  I can't really figure out why, but it was more enjoyable and fun with a treat.  :) 

All of the nurses and doctors were awesome.  I can't say enough wonderful comments about the people I've been blessed to work with on this journey.  I think it's abnormal.  I know I am lucky and blessed.  Anyways, there was a room with a lot of people getting chemo at the same time.  Everyone mostly rested, because the medicine makes you feel super tired, but they were so welcoming.  REALLY NICE PEOPLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  I can't wait to make friends. 

Today I had a big group come with me: mom, dad, Julie (my sister).  Afterwards I decided it was too overwhelming with such a big crowd so from now on it's just mom and me.  Dads and sisters are great, but no one can take the place of mommy when you are sick, and if you're a mommy's girl like me you understand that I just love my mom.  She's so comforting, supportive, and never critical!!!!  Dad and Julie were so sweet though.  I can't believe Julie wanted to travel all that way to be there when it was so boring. I think she must love me.  Well, I know she does.  :)  My other sisters are going to be WAY jealous. 

Anyways, it was a good day!  I'm in very good spirits.  I can't believe that I might be happy through something so awful.  If it amazes you, then you are not alone.  I can't believe it either.  I never would have expected myself to be happy.  So it was a blessed day!

Today I was absent from school, but I sent a letter home to the parents of my "kids".  :)  So, I've now spread the word to them and then tomorrow (Friday) I've asked the principal to announce it to the faculty/staff at school.  So I'll probably post something on facebook on Friday announcing it to the community and all my lifelong friends and wanna-be friends.  :)  Ha, ha...the wanna-be is funny to me.  Anyways, after I post it on facebook......you can shout it from the housetops if you want.  I won't be worrying about keeping it private anymore.  It's a relief to have that off my shoulders.  I just hope I didn't make anyone sad.  I really don't like doing that. 

Well, have a great day Friday because it's Friday!!!!  Isn't there some rule about how it's criminal to have a bad Friday.  Well, I hope you are happy and well and not having a doom and gloom depressing day.  Well, love ya! :)